Top Page > Browsing
Charged Defects Formation Energy Correction
Date: 2023/10/24 19:18
Name: Marc Tunica   <marc.tunica-i-rosich@universite-paris-saclay.fr>
References: Correction

Dear all,

I am currently working on structural properties of charged point defects in bulk silicon. As is known, the formation energy and defect level computed in such systems need to be corrected to remove the contributions from the spurious long-range interaction between the defect and its periodic images. To remove this effect, I would like to calculate the Freysoldt-Neugebauer-Van de Walle (FNV) correction scheme (https://journals.aps.org/prl/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevLett.102.016402). The system I am studying is bulk cubic silicon supercell containing a charged boron atom.

After reviewing discussions on this forum, it appears that the correct method for calculating the potential alignment term included in the FNV electrostatic correction implies: i) including the VNA term in the V0 (using the flag scf.ProExpn.VNA off), ii) increasing the energy cutoff, and iii) calculating the difference between the Kohn-Sham and exchange-correlation potentials (V0 - Vxc0), which represents the electrostatic potential.

After analyzing my results, I have observed a small difference in the formation energy (0.06 eV) applying this procedure for the same system using scf.ProExpn.VNA turned off and on. I would greatly appreciate any insights or explanations about this discrepancy, in particular because I optimized the lattice parameter with scf.ProExpn.VNA turned on.

Furthermore, as for the Freysoldt approach, I would like to know if considering just the Hartree contribution (without including the electrostatic ionic interactions) in the potential alignment term is accurate enough. Any comment on that will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for any assistance

Best regards,
Marc
メンテ
Page: [1]

Re: Charged Defects Formation Energy Correction ( No.1 )
Date: 2023/10/27 14:19
Name: T. Ozaki

Hi,