This thread is locked.Only browsing is available.
Top Page > Browsing
How to apply periodic boundary conditions
Date: 2019/01/17 18:23
Name: sanjeev

I am new to openmx. I am trying to reproduse some papers on graphene published by "openmx".
I want to know how to apply periodic boundary conditions in different direction, which keywords will control this.

Now suppose in a paper published by Lou &Lee, (J. phys.chem, c, 2009,113, 21213). He stated that "we adopted a supercell
geometry where the length of a vacuum region along the nonperiodic direction (y- direction) was 20 A, and the lattice constant along the
periodic direction (x direction) wa 3.11 A.

I can control the dimension of the supercell by the keywords like given below.

<Atoms.UnitVectors
0.000 0.000 4.88
20.000 0.000 0.000
0.000 27.000 0.000
Atoms.UnitVectors>

But how can we say that our calculations have periodicity in x direction.

thanking in advance

sanjeev
メンテ
Page: [1]

Re: How to apply periodic boundary conditions ( No.1 )
Date: 2019/01/18 01:25
Name: Naoya Yamaguchi

Hi,

OpenMX always considers periodic boundary conditions along a-, b-, and c-axes except some methods, such as NEGF and ESM. For example, slab calculations are usually performed by inserting a vacuum region with an enough width to remove influence of image cells through "Atoms.UnitVectors" as you said.

Regards,
Naoya Yamaguchi
メンテ
Re: How to apply periodic boundary conditions ( No.2 )
Date: 2019/01/18 13:53
Name: sanjeev

Dear Yamaguchi,

Thank you very much for your reply. But still my doubt is not clear.
In the above mentioned paper the author has mentioned that he made Y & Z directions nonperiodic.
My question is that, How he made Y & Z nonperiodic and X as periodic. while, openmx consider all x,y,z
directions as periodic.

Now suppose I want to simulate graphene fragments with a supercell dimensions
x= 10, y=50, z=50, for this I set.

<Atoms.UnitVectors
10.000 0.000 0.000
0.000 50.000 0.000
0.000 0.000 50.000